OpenID + VRM = Cardspace?

It’s starting to dawn on me that OpenID and VRM combined become very much like a version of Cardspace (but with much more potential in areas Cardspace can’t touch).

I actually think Cardspace seems like a great idea, and quite a compelling experience as far as single sign-on goes. That said, I would rather see a VRM-based solution for the following reasons (based on my still limited knowledge of Cardspace).

  • VRM would support subscription access to data
  • VRM would allow broadcast of data to user-selected service providers
  • Installation of client software means I can only use single sign-on with admin rights
  • Mistrust of an infrastructure initiative pushed by a single company
  • VRM/OpenId would allow anybody to be an identity provider for others (it’d be up to the recipient of the identity evidence to decide whether they trusted the identity provider)

You can read more about Cardspace should check out some of the Microsoft identity bloggers: Don Schmidt, Kim Cameron, and Mike Jones.

2 Responses to OpenID + VRM = Cardspace?

  1. TCarroll says:

    Actually, I think the equation is more like:

    OpenID + VRM + Cardspace = Higgins

  2. Richard Marr says:

    Okay, well now I’ve been shot in the foot by the oversimplification of my title. Neither equation actually does justice to the concepts involved.

    I’ve only looked at Higgins briefly, but from what I understand it seeks to create a common identity framework that bridges the gap between existing providers (LDAP, OpenID, etc). What I don’t get is, what else it can provide? Is there a killer app?

    By implementing OpenId and VRM, a service provider would get single sign-on *and* access to new markets. With Higgins they’d just get single sign-on.

    What am I missing?

Leave a Reply

